Posted in Music, Travel

Journey in Japan: Part 2 – All That Jazz

Bald Australian goes ham on violin. You won’t believe what happened next…

If you fell for the click-bait… well, I’m not sure what I can tell you. Either way…

I’m back!

I really have no other way to put it or emphasize it. Thanks for that wordpress.

Alrighty, so I went on a little trip the other day, thought I’d share some moments, pics and impressions.

The event in question was the 7th Sumida Street Jazz Festival. It takes about an hour and a half from where I live by subway (plus extra for biking to the station).

20160813_123053

The event took place in a park that is enveloped by a park and a subway station. The area was overall pretty nice.

20160813_124617

I went because two bands which I knew were pretty good were showing up on that day. I came early and made sure to get the spot I had reserved.

20160813_135523

My seat was 12-B, spot in the dirt. Very fancy.

It’s a community event so I couldn’t have expected anything more or less. There was plenty of food in the vicinity being served by local people. I ended up getting some teriyaki chicken and some bulgogi. Both were pretty good.

20160813_123743

I came a while before the bands I was waiting for were scheduled to play. I ended up watching two acts before then. The first was called King Columbia.

20160813_124603

They were pretty okay, the third guy from the left even went a little crazy on the sax, which was cool to see.

Okay, we have to talk about a certain person. I don’t know who they are, and I apologize if this embarasses them, but…

There was a member of the crowd who insisted on dancing to the music. And I couldn’t repress my smile.

20160813_130558

It was a nice day, so sitting outside wasn’t bad at all. I really liked this kind of event, and despite seeming a little crowded, it was okay.

But wait, what do we have here?

20160813_131545

A cartoonishly rye smile has affixed itself to this Vulpix. Thanks Pokemon Go.

Moving right along, the next act was an Australian band called Arabesk. If you want, check them out on iTunes. Listen to “Front Ear”, “Argentine” and “Arabesk” to get a good idea of how it was.

But to get an even better idea…

I didn’t take any pictures or videos of the other performances I saw, but the two bands I knew got some of the biggest fanfare I have seen up close. These shows were tame in comparison. At the end, I bought a DVD from one and a CD from another, and along with a T-shirt from the event itself, I left with fair share of swag.

Overall, fun times and an eye-opening experience. I have really only seen Japanese people in a work setting, but seeing them just enjoying themselves makes their serious attitudes during work make more sense to me. It’s their version of “work hard, play hard” I guess.

Well that’s all for now. Thanks for reading and have a great day!

Cl2KtxxWAAAVQvf

“And on today’s news… oh never mind.”

Pay attention to when the lead singer mouths the word “cocaine” to the camera. This performance was aired on live T.V. Das koo.

Leave a Reply

