Posted in Gaming

The Longest Journey Review

Part of the game requires you to go to a library and read books. Isn’t this supposed to be a video game?

I’m kinda tired, so this won’t be a crazily extensive review. Just a few thoughts and then we’ll get to the dog pictures real soon, ‘kay?

The Longest Journey. A game which I got purely because Steam had a great summer sale. I game which, otherwise, I never would have played. However, I am glad that I did. Now, I can’t stop playing point and click adventures. You may judge for yourself whether this is a good or bad thing.

thelongestjourney-261114-1

The Longest Journey is a game from Norwegian developer Funcom. It tells the story of a normal girl named April Ryan whose life gets turned upside down when she realizes that she has strange abilities and that they are somehow connected to shadowy Illuminati-style organizations and a parallel world of magic. As she learns more about her powers, a great destiny is revealed to her and her long journey to discover the truth begins.

This game is…………………. long. The title is not misleading and not a misnomer. If I hadn’t played through almost the entire game without a walkthrough, I would still be playing the damn thing, and I started this game 4 weeks ago! Despite using a walkthrough, it still took me two days!!!!

However, I am very happy to say that this is my only complaint. This game was lots of fun and if you are wondering how a game can be fun if you use a walkthrough, then you don’t understand how I feel about point-and-clicks. To me, a point-and-click is just a self-guided movie. It needs your help to move along, but beyond that the game is simply trying to tell a story. Gameplay is secondary. I don’t care about how the maker of the point-and-click intended me to solve every puzzle. I can’t read their mind, and sometimes that seems like the only conceivable way to think of some of this stuff. I mean, you have to make some really, REALLY contrived choices in this game. Things that you would never think of. And so I remove that component completely and immerse myself in the rest. For me, it’s all about being the character. Clearly the game has an ending, so they must be able to solve every puzzle. I can enjoy the rest.

9bf715598cf4_the_longest_journey_dreamfall_8_

And with The Longest Journey, “the rest” of the game constitutes a large chunk to be sure. It is a great deal of lore and character, interesting settings and atmosphere, and cool dialogue (if a bit boring at times). While it isn’t always fast-paced (maybe it is never fast-paced), and maybe it isn’t always intense, but it always has character. Nothing feels like it came out of the blue. If you paid attention, there were hints to things before they happen and you can put the pieces together. It is just a really big puzzle.

It was clear that the creators put some actual thought and care into this game, it really does show in the final product. I am very happy that I played it, although I was rather exhausted afterwards. Good work, good game.

Alright, that’s all for now folks, thanks for reading and have a great day.

Leave a Reply

