Posted in Travel

Journey in Japan: Part 3 – TGS 2016

Eh… what a nerd.

So I went to TGS this past weekend.

And I am holding your souvenirs hostage.

FEED ME!

Anyways…

TGS, or Tokyo Game Show, is an annual game expo/trade show where companies from all over the world present their latest and greatest innovations, make announcements and generally generate hype for and merchandise profits from their respective IP’s. Big hullabaloo. As a self-professed nerd, I would be remiss not to attend while I am in the general geographic avenue.

And it was a lot of fun… yeah… sorta… for the most part.

You have to understand, I don’t go to conventions. And that is basically what TGS is. With every convention, there are the good… and the not so good.

There are the cool music demonstrations by graphically generated people performing your favorite anime openings.

And then there are the huge lines of people standing in the rain with tickets made of paper.

There are plushy cactii for sale.

And then there are scantily clad women leaning against the walls of an underground garage as a line of cameramen form some distance away snapping pictures.

Like all things, you take the good with the bad.

Sometimes, you just have to wake up super early to get to the other side of Tokyo.

I would say that the highlights for me were the merch I picked up and the e-sports players I got to see.

I got a blurry picture of Dogura sleeping. I am not weird.

I also got distant pictures of Chris T, Eita, Goichi, Ricky Ortiz, and Brentiscool. K-Brad and Alucard evaded me.

And merch is sick, I can’t lie.

Okay, that’s about all I’ve got. Thanks for reading and have a great day!

cr05yx6uaaag5rt

Leave a Reply

