Posted in Music

Sound Bites: Oct 10, 2016

And we back kids. Time for some Soda pop and collectible stickers! Let’s blow this popsicle stand!!!!!

…what am I doing…

Today I’ve got some anime songs which all have something in common. Operatic vocals. That’s about it. Enjoy!

1. Ah! My Goddess! The Movie ED, Coro di Dea (Chorus of the Angels)

Can’t quite remember where I heard this song first, but chances are it was on some “top anime songs” or “best anime hits” Youtube video. That’s where I get half the music I’ve ever listened to in my life it seems. Anyways, I was very surprised that apparently something good came from Ah! My Goddess!. This song is very nice, and while I am not much of an enthusiast for this type of music, I was more than happy with the chord progression and melody. The song is a bit short, but sometimes it is better that way. I would rather enjoy what little song there is than eventually get bored of a very long song because it was too repetitive.

2. Noir OST, Canta per me (Italian for “Sing for me”)

If you are an anime fan, or enjoy anime music to at least some extent, you have probably heard this song. It is infamously good, as is the soundtrack. It also helps that the composer of the OST, Yuki Kajiura, is extremely well known among anime fans of almost all levels of intensity. This song in particular features beautifully ringing vocals, a passionate wandering solo violin and backing violins which aid in setting and keeping a brisk tempo (I’d say somewhere between andante and allegro).

3. Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom OP, Karma

While I don’t consider this one of my favorite songs, it is definitely good. Ignoring vocals, the effects and overall sound have a “produced”-feel to them, much like many other anime openings in the early and mid 2000’s. The vocals are impressive though. Their sheer quality aside, I really appreciated the tune and melodic nature, although I am not a fan of short choruses followed by an unnatural slowing or calming, as is present in this song. It just makes the musical tension that was built feel like a false start. It isn’t too much of a problem, by virtue of the fact that this is something that almost great songs that I’ve heard suffer from. I’ve gotten used to it, although I have yet to understand the rationale behind it.

Welp, that’s all from me. Thanks for reading and have a great day!

cqiecy6w8aax3lj

Leave a Reply

