Posted in Site Update

Site Update: More Something, Less Filling?

A post that doesn’t begin with “Top”? Somebody’s hacked the site!

Alrighty folks, I’m here. How have you been?

No one’s here. Right. I get it.

Anyways, I thought it would be a good idea to at least organize some thoughts I’ve had recently about the site, the posts that are getting put up, and the posts that I want to put up in the future.

First, I am not currently satisfied with the way things have been going. And I’m writing these damn things! However, the posts are really just getting put up in whatever order I feel, with no real regularity or schedule. I am constantly starting and stopping regular “segments”.

Now, these kinds of complaints are all well and good, but it makes little sense for me to be the one doing the complaining. After all, I am the reason that these inconsistencies are occurring. Am I so blind that I am unable to see the long range disorder that I am causing?

The answer is “well, no and sorta yes.” Very specific, I know.

Anyways, I just want to say that I am going to try my best to rectify this by making the posting schedule, rather than more regular, at least more telegraphed. I will not deliberately try and engineer some sort of random mix of posts so that there is some appearance of variety over any period of time. I was trying to do this early on in the site, as I know that this site covers a very wide range of topics, namely my interests. Since my interests vary quite a bit, I felt it necessary to try and mix things up from day to day.

However, I reached a brick wall with that idea. I can’t predict what I will be interested in at any ¬†point in the future. To create a schedule or manufacture some order takes away a considerable amount of enjoyment from my experience with thinking and writing. Even if I were to write as I wanted and just scheduled the posts to go out at some point in the future, that still would not work. As soon as I gather enough interest, I want to create and upload my post as soon as possible, so that I can talk to you guys about it. If I write about something, and then it gets uploaded 1 week later, my interest has probably waned considerably. I’ve found this to be the case quite often.

All of this is to say simply that from now, don’t expect regularity or organization. I am rather irregular and disorganized in my daily life, and trying to be more organized while doing the task of blogging makes it… well, a task, and what’s the fun in that?

Alright, now that we have that out of the way, let’s get to some more specific changes to be implemented within the next few days or so.

#1. New Segment -> Comic Tracker, replacing Weekly Comic Review

For those of you paying attention to the older posts on this blog….

There used to be a segment on the blog called “Weekly Comic Review”. It was just a weekly review of a trade paperback or two from a comic book series, on a regular weekly basis.

Due to what I just described above, that didn’t really last. It only ran for 2 weeks before I lost interest.

Now, we will be switching to a different segment for comic reviews, called “Comic Tracker”. I will write in a separate post about¬†what this new segment entails, and speaking of which….

#2. Introductions to new segments and projects

With new segment, I find it strange to just start them abruptly and only discuss their purpose (or my idea at least) in a short paragraph in the beginning. From now on, I will be doing a separate introduction post where I describe the new segment in some detail. This will allow for you readers to have a framework in which to think and understand my writing, and I will get more posts on the blog. So, win-win.

#3. More site updates

I feel like this updates will do a lot to inform the curious reader about what goes on behind the curtain, as well as help me consolidate all of the ideas I have for the future of this website. I will do my best to keep these up as time goes on. I find these rather helpful for myself, and I hope you guys enjoy them.

#4. The Top 1000 Anime Songs List needs to change

Okay, this is one of the biggest things that I have been thinking about, and I will be doing a separate and significant post about it at a later date. However, I just wanted to keep you guys informed. I am not satisfied with how this list is turning out, and I am only realizing now that my original vision for the project was not robust enough to take into account future events.

Suffice it to say that there will be a lot of changes made to the list, it’s structure, and I am very seriously thinking about whether it should continue to exist. But more on that at a later date.

Alright everyone. That’s all for this update. If you have any questions, comments or concerns, feel free to comment below this post or use the information on my Contact page. That’s all for now, thanks for reading and have a great day!

cpkshctwiaanls8

Leave a Reply

